Deck Builder

I’m sure everyone will be extremely happy to know that a first draft of the Deck Builder is available! You should get it automatically the next time you start the application.

I know the editor is lacking a lot of features, but at least it is stable and functionnal, you should be able to build decks with it.

What it currently lacks most is a way to filter cards… Every card is displayed in the list! You may notice a small glitch as well, there are some rows which are a little bit off, e.g. the “Souther” row in the screenshot. This is a bug in the grid I’ve used, so it’ll be fixed when they do fix it.

This new version has a small change in the master database format. This means that you’ll have to re-install your games, although you don’t have to download updated versions, they are compatible with the new release. Just re-install them.

I changed the category in the Start menu as well. Now it sits under OCTGN, in case you wonder where it is. It was filed inside www.octgn.net before, which wasn’t very obvious.

There’s nothing else really worth noting… The new version is labelled 0.3.1.5 because it took me 5 iterations to fix some auto-updater non-sense. Hopefully you didn’t try to launch OCTGN at the same time I did that, otherwise you may have notice a bit of mess…

Next time I suppose I will add some filters to the card list.

EDIT> I almost forgot to mention how it works! Basically:
– When a card is selected, hitting + or – or Insert or Delete or Enter (Enter: in the search list only) will add (resp. remove) one card of the selected kind.
– Double-clicking in the search list also adds a card.
– You can double-click in the deck list to edit the quantities directly.

Adding/removing cards works with the active deck section. The active deck section is that last one, which had focus. You can easily spot it because it’s name is in bold.

Explore posts in the same categories: OCTGN.net

28 Comments on “Deck Builder”

  1. Gaspare Says:

    Great !!

    Looks nice and handy.

    Only one note for future updates: could you add a “color” column in order to sort the cards also by color? It would be much appreciated πŸ˜€

  2. jods Says:

    It sure would be handy!
    The fields defined (and filled) depends on the game, not the client… Hopefully the authors will update their games sometime…

  3. Oen Says:

    Nice, was at a football game and work till late. Glad I checked up on this. Now maybe I can get some more people playing the 2 games I am working on. πŸ™‚

  4. Joesnuffy Says:

    Great work.. Where is the game installed to? I would like to move it to my external drive so I can take it to other pc’s and use it. I know all the prerequ’s would need to be installed etc.. Keep up the great work πŸ™‚

  5. Zark the Damned Says:

    Good work on the deck creator – however I am getting an error when I try to load decks into it. I will post it on the issues tracker too.

    It happens when I try to load the Arcanis’ Guile deck that came with 10th ed patch, all I changed was the game ID line (I get the same error when I try the downloaded version from the LOL):

    System.UriFormatException: Invalid URI: A Dos path must be rooted, for example, ‘c:\’.
    at System.Uri.CreateThis(String uri, Boolean dontEscape, UriKind uriKind)
    [Stack trace snipped by jods]
    at System.Windows.Media.Imaging.BitmapImage..ctor(Uri uriSource)
    at Octgn.DeckBuilder.DeckBuilderWindow.set_Game(Game value)
    at Octgn.DeckBuilder.DeckBuilderWindow.LoadDeck(Game game)
    [Stack trace snipped by jods]

  6. jods Says:

    @joesnuffy:
    although you could find a way around this, the deployment model is per-user on a single machine. So the simplest answer is install it from the web on the other PC as well. It’s a small download anyway.
    The games are installed in the folder you specified the first time OCTGN ran.

    @Zark:
    The file you uploaded at 16bugs loads fine… Can you load it inside the game module?
    What did you specify as game installation path?

  7. Joesnuffy Says:

    Hmm my only problem is that the other PC is group policy locked to not allow installs. I can unlock this in GP but it would just be nice to have a way to bring your game with you. Does that mean the game is installed to the application data folder as it is per user? I will run a search now to see what I can find out. Even just the .exe name would work.

  8. Zark the Damned Says:

    Hmm… looking into it, I think the problem’s with my machine and not OCTGN. I tried to start a new game and got the following:

    System.Windows.Markup.XamlParseException: Cannot create instance of ‘GameSelector’ defined in assembly ‘OCTGN, Version=0.3.1.5, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null’. Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation. Error at object ‘System.Windows.Controls.Grid’ in markup file ‘OCTGN;component/launcher/serve.xaml’. —> System.Reflection.TargetInvocationException: Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation. —> System.UriFormatException: Invalid URI: A Dos path must be rooted, for example, ‘c:\’.
    at System.Uri.CreateThis(String uri, Boolean dontEscape, UriKind uriKind)
    [Stack trace snipped by jods]at System.Windows.Media.Imaging.BitmapImage..ctor(Uri uriSource)
    at Octgn.Launcher.GameSelector.Create3DItems()
    at Octgn.Launcher.GameSelector..ctor()
    [Stack trace snipped by jods]
    In case it matters, my install path for OCTGN is D:\Games\octgn2

  9. Zark the Damned Says:

    Forgot to mention; it installed the game and the set patches fine, but since then I have the problems with the deck editor and game start. I have also been able to delete and re-add sets fine.

  10. jods Says:

    @Joesnuffy:
    Did you actually try? Because ClickOnce deployment doesn’t modify the machine. Little is done and this happens inside the user local profile…
    But if it doesn’t work, yes you could install it wherever you want simply by copying the files… They are inside the user’s profile in an esoterically named folder, simply look for the file octgn.exe.

    @Zark:
    Both errors are the same, OCTGN has trouble finding your card images. I’d say this is most probably due to the string you entered when the configuration dialog popped up (Maybe you entered a relative path, which I should have processed, or better yet forbidden). You can check what is inside your configuration file. Locate it inside your user’s folder (usually something like C:\Documents and Settings\Zark), it is named octgn.exe.config (I think, should double-check that). Beware as there are probably at least two of those (inside different folders).

  11. jods Says:

    Sorry Zark, the file is actually named user.config, it is inside some subfolder of a “Data” folder somewhere in your user profile.

  12. Lhaz Says:

    Great job !! and thanks for using my CCG as example, I was stunned ^^

  13. Zark the Damned Says:

    I eventually found the config file in a weird location:

    C:\Documents and Settings\[USERNAME]\Local Settings\Apps\2.0\Data\AX9AA04O.JPB\ZZO3RNNR.NWQ\octg..tion_0000000000000000_0000.0003_33acc2bd174c538a\Data.3.1.5

    It contained the following:

    d:/games/octgn2/

    I tried changing the / to \ in the path and this seems to have fixed the problems, I loaded the deck file fine.

    So in the end it turned out to be a carbon based interface problem. (aka user screwed up)

    I guess I’m too used to the interwebs and using / for addresses… although I’m sure I won’t be the only person to make this mistake. Perhaps for a future release, either something which checks the path entered before it’s saved, or (preferably) a browse dialog where the user clicks where they want the file to go.

    One thing I’m curious about though – if the path was faulty and crashed due to graphics not being found, how come all the games and cards I installed ended up in the right place? I didn’t have to reinstall anything after the above correction… (other than the deck file)

  14. jods Says:

    Sorry for that Zark.
    I want to consolidate that part of the interface later, it was just a quick fix so that players don’t have to edit XML files by hand.

    I didn’t thought about screwing the data like this, though. I will take care of pushing a quick fix in the next release. (the dirty fix: replace / with \).

  15. Zark the Damned Says:

    Ah well, at least I’m helping! πŸ˜€

  16. defmoose Says:

    Hi jods! I’ve been following the project for a while now and wanted to say how great the work you’ve done is! It already seems much more user-friendly than the first octgn. What are the chances that graphical deck representation might end up in the final deck editor? A nice visual representation of deck composition would be a pretty unique and helpful feature for builders. (i.e. mana curves, spell composition, etc.) I know there’s an excel deck analyzer file out there that I believe is supposed to do this, but I’ve never been able to get that to work. Whatever happens you’re doing great work and the community appreciates it! Thanks! =D

  17. jods Says:

    Thanks for the nice comment.

    The probability to have more “visual” deck and card list in the *final* editor is very high…

  18. ready Says:

    hi guys, i tried changing a card jpg into a gif, and Octgn1 displayed it, but only the static picture (not animating). Is there a way that it can be tweaked to work with animating images too?
    Would also be great for Octgn 2 as it could add nice effects using animating tokens etc πŸ™‚

  19. Amnesiasoft Says:

    Personally, I’d suggest you not even place the OCTGN shortcut in a folder. Based on Microsoft’s usability guidelines, you should place it in the top level of the start menu.

  20. jods Says:

    @ready:
    OCTGN 2 doesn’t support animated GIFs (at least currently). Regarding OCTGN 1.x I can’t say…

    @Amnesiasoft:
    I don’t think I actually can do that with ClickOnce deployment (or maybe I should dig deeper inside the documentation…)

  21. game Says:

    Games for girls or women The thought that games are teens, or just have fun sending
    greeting cards out to all your friends. Playing Experience:
    8. The game Miniclip has 57 million registered users. 00 it’s progressive and members get double the jackpot price limited to $4999.

  22. Oma Says:

    Thanks for finally talking about >Deck Builder | OCTGN.
    net development <Loved it!


  23. Hello to all, the contents existing at this website are really awesome for people knowledge, well,
    keep up the good work fellows.

  24. Leather bags Says:

    Greate post. Keep writing such kind of information on your
    blog. Im really impressed by your blog.
    Hi there, You’ve done an excellent job. I’ll definitely
    digg it and in my opinion suggest to my friends. I am sure they will be
    benefited from this site.

  25. Keira Says:

    I am not sure if it’s me or even your website but it
    is launching sluggish for me personally, it took me sort of a
    minute or two to finally load up however gmail operates perfectly for
    me. Nevertheless, Thanks for posting a remarkably amazing blog post.
    I believe it really has already been seriously helpful to individual who click here.
    This is undoubtedly great what you actually have implemented here and would like to see a lot
    more amazing posts by you. I now have your site saved to bookmarks to check out
    blogs you publish.


  26. Hey there Facebook performs great for me yet your web site is loading steadily which actually took nearly a few minutes to actually
    load up, I’m not sure whether it’s my own problem perhaps site issue.
    However thanks for putting up great blog post.

    I think it has been incredibly helpful to visitor who visit
    here. I’m hoping I will be able to get further incredible things and I should certainly complement
    by telling you’ve done amazing writing. Immediately after viewing your
    post, I have book marked your webblog.


  27. I am not sure if it’s me or your web page but it’s starting slowly , I
    had to spend for a minute to successfully load however gmail does work perfectly to me.
    Nevertheless, Thank you for putting up such a fabulous article.

    Almost everyone who actually discovered this web site should have found this informative article incredibly very helpful.
    I am hoping I will be able to get more amazing content and
    I should certainly flatter you simply by saying you’ve done wonderful writing.
    To obtain additional knowledge by content which you write-up, I’ve added this website.

  28. Nola Says:

    Hey! Your webpage is running slow for me, that consumed sort of
    a minute to load, I actually dont know whether it’s entirely me or your web-site however ,
    google worked fine for me. On the other hand thanks for writing wonderful article.

    Most people who came to this site must have found this content honestly handy.

    This one is actually great everything that you actually have implemented and would like to check out
    a lot more content from your site. Soon after viewing the
    content, I’ve book-marked your web site.


Leave a comment