Filters in Deck Builder

I published a small update to the client today. The deck builder now includes filters. It’s very basic but it works. The next work items for the deck builder are:

  • Include a set filter (missing right now);
  • Enable multiple search tabs (as hinted by current design);
  • Let user add/remove columns from the grid (you already can reorder them, though).

I don’t know if this will be done before or after some work on the play module.

In other news, the end of 2008 is close. At this time of the year I’m usually quite busy, so expect OCTGN development to slow down a bit.

Explore posts in the same categories: OCTGN.net

7 Comments on “Filters in Deck Builder”

  1. Zack Litzsinger Says:

    How handy. Thanks for the hard work, and take your deserved break.

  2. Thomas Paine Says:

    Thank you for the hardwork. Eagerly awaiting your next update, and a full featured beta release.

  3. Frank Says:

    Frankly, I love all the potential the program has, but HATE all the proprietary software it needs to install and run.

    The only time I’ve ever been able to get this program to run was back when I was running Windows XP SP3.

    It’s NEVER worked under Windows Vista no matter how many software updates I tried.

    And it’s NOT working in Windows 7 Beta either though it includes all the latest Microsoft software.

    I think TONS of people who want to use this program are unable to get it to install and run just because they’re not using XP.

    That’s probably why the interest in the alpha fell once it was released, because so few people could actually get it up and running.

    If this helps, it tells me under Windows 7 Beta “Unable to install or run the application. The application requires that assembly Sentinel.v.3.5 Client Version 3.5 be installed in the Global Assembly Cache (GAC) first.”

    What does that mean, and how could I fix it?

  4. jods Says:

    “All the proprietary software it needs to install and run”?
    OCTGN 2 is written with the .NET framework, this is its one and only requirement.

    To be 100% accurate, it uses a proprietary database as well, but it isn’t installed on your system, just deployed with the client (it’s just a DLL inside the OCTGN folder).

    I am glad to know you could run it on XP.
    I am running Vista here. If you have .NET 3.5 SP1 on your system I’m very confident it should run. If you *do* have .NET 3.5 SP1 and can’t run OCTGN, I’d love to find out why.
    Regarding Windows 7 I am unsure since I haven’t tried it myself yet. As long as it is in beta I suppose you’re on your own.

    Please note I’ll be away from home until next year, so don’t worry if there’s no answer to your posts.

    Happy new year everyone.

  5. Oen Says:

    I don’t think OCTGN2 supports pirated copies of Windows 7 Beta.

    http://news.cnet.com/8301-10805_3-10129334-75.html

    I doubt you or a Windows tester if you don’t know anything about GAC. 😦 Like jods said, he will probably support it once Win7 is out of beta and released.

  6. UnknownAX Says:

    This isn’t quite related to this news post. Moreso it’s to anybody who’s creating card sets.

    I humbly ask that you do not use the WDP image format. Myself, and several other Windows XP users have problems with their Windows Imagery Component installation (and due to the nature of the WIC, most people are unable to uninstall/reinstall or even repair it) which is needed to view WDP images.

    Please convert it to JPG or another type of image similar to that. I have uploaded an application that can batch convert WDP images if needed. It can be found here: http://filebeam.com/77d245a331ea29b6dbd8530f83fed4f6

    Thanks.

  7. jods Says:

    @UnknownAX:
    As I answered in the forums, this is rather an issue for people who build games. OCTGN let them choose whichever format they prefer for images. WDP has some advantages over JPG…

    WPF may be broken at places without WIC (which it relies upon when it comes to imaging, whatever the format). So it would be best if you find a way to repaire the install…

    Sorry not being able to help more…


Leave a Reply

