Problems with 0.7.3

Apparently there has been a lot of problems after the last update.

1. It was very quickly noticed that XP users were unable to run O2 because of a problem with the format of an icon. This was quickly fixed in 0.7.3.2.

2. It seems that the .NET 4 upgrade has created a few regressions. Amongst other O2 seems to crash when you remove filters in the deck editor, or when you dismiss some context menus.
If you experience a crash since the last release, please go to http://octgn.16bugs.com, check if that bug is already reported or not, and provide all the details you can.
I am going to fix those regressions as soon as possible before moving on to new features.

3. The new IPv6 stack has created a lot of trouble. I was told it would work on all OSes starting with XP SP2. The reality is less pleasing. The good news is that it works fine for a lot of people apparently. Some players can host even though they couldn’t before.
The bad news is that some people had to do crazy manipulations to make it work. And even worse, there’s a bunch of people, for whom it simply doesn’t work at all.
I think that it’s probably too complicated to make it work properly for everyone. I also think that IPv6 is the future. It works without problems in Win7 and quite often on Vista, as well. It provides easy connectivity even when you are behind a NAT.
Based on that, I have decided that I’m going to try to allow both modes. OCTGN will preferably try to host on an IPv6 address. If for some reason you can’t do that it will use the previous IPv4 stack (the way it always had: you need to forward ports if you’re behind a NAT).

Hopefully everything all of this will be done this week (don’t expect a release before the week-end, though).

In the meantime, if you have problems connecting I encourage you to read this thread, it contains information that may help you:  http://www.octgn.net/forum/index.php?topic=480.0
The summary is that XP users should be able to run IPv6 after using 2 netsh commands (please wait for the commands to complete, it may take a bit of time).
Vista users apparently need the Windows firewall to be able to use the Teredo (green) IP.
I haven’t heard of problems with Windows 7.

Explore posts in the same categories: OCTGN.net

19 Comments on “Problems with 0.7.3”

  1. Kurt Says:

    In the next update, is it possible to have the window when looking at your library, graveyard, etc. to be a bit wider, so it can hold 6 cards in the first row? It seems with the update to .Net 4 this changed, as it’s making the 6th card go in a second row (which it seems if you added a few pixels it would fit perfectly).

    I did add this in the issue tracker, but it might’ve been confused with another problem that I found out, but I noticed I was able to fix the issue myself with my game definitions.)

    Thanks, and hopefully this issue can be resolved as well. =)

  2. Xitax Says:

    I’m glad it’ll support both modes:

    I set up IPv6 on 2 XP machines sucessfully only to find out my router doesn’t support v6. I plan on changing it someday, but to not have to do so yet is appreciated.

    Limited sorting: I don’t know what to suggest here as currently it sorts by name and this doesn’t work out ideally especially when sorting by mana cost or rarity and of course power/toughness aren’t populated yet in the sets (MTG). Should these values be changed in the set files or should sorting be smarter? I’d like to see rarity sorted as rare/uncommon/common or reverse, but C/R/U is how it is alphabetically. Sorting by mana cost should ideally put all 2 cost cards together, but right now it is 1G/2G/3G/G/GG if you get what I mean there. Last but not least, I would like to see sorting by color (I can see some possible difficulties with that, too).

    • jods Says:

      The main problem here is the quality of the data in the MtG sets currently available. I think there’s something in the works and I hope you’ll find it much better when it’s out.

  3. Matt Says:

    I would kill one hundred orphans for a sort by color option

    • brine Says:

      I hope you’re ready to kill some orphans then, because sorting (and filtering) by color is going to be one of the new sorting options in the “enhanced” set files coming soon ;D

    • jods Says:

      Read my answer to Xitax. I think a lot of orphans are going to die soon.

      • Matt Says:

        Thanks jods and co – I love the way you get on with it, quickly updating problems and letting everyone know what is going on, really appreciated!

  4. bushd Says:

    I run Windows 7 and IPv6 does not work. However, I connect with a wireless card. Now, my wired older computer at home works perfectly with XP installed on it. Still, the laptop will now with Win7. I’ve read wireless cards have trouble with Teredo I believe. I can’t get it to work at the university either.

    My show status says Error: client is in a managed network. When I try to change the type=enterpriseclient it says Ok but never changes.

    • jods Says:

      managed network => use enterpriseclient instead.
      If after that it still doesn’t work I don’t know… wait for the ipv4 to be back. 😦

      • bushd Says:

        Yeah I’ve tried switching it to enterprise but no can do as it still says client and doesn’t work.

      • bushd Says:

        I will say one thing though I read in my search to fix the IPv6 issue is that wireless cards have an issue with IPv6 and that many required updated drivers. I’ve searched for broadcom but I’m updated from what I can tell.

  5. brine Says:

    what did you update for 0.7.3.3?

    • jods Says:

      I fixed all the regressions caused by .NET 4 that have been reported yet:
      – crash in the context menus;
      – crash with the filters in the deck builder;
      – bad marker text quality.

  6. fantsu Says:

    Again, thank you for the update. There is tons of pleased people here that doesn’t use this development site or the forums. 😀

  7. Orvar Says:

    I seem to have a problem with the update. There are some sets that I can’t install. When I try to install them I get the following error:

    An error occurred while processing the card set:

    Error 309 (Provider v.3.3.1.54 Express): Duplicate key found in index:
    SetPK: row#140 :id(e809a54b-3eef-df6a-e4f8-1a148a7fb56a)
    Error 254 (Provider v.3.3.1.54 Express): Cannot create link to: Set
    Error 255 (Provider v.3.3.1.54 Express): Cannot create linked data: Set
    Error 250 (Provider v.3.3.1.54 Express) Cannot create row:
    Table: ‘Set’, RowId = 140

    I tried downloading new versions of the set and I still get the same problem.

    • Orvar Says:

      And I should note that I had none of these problems when running OCTGN before. And I’m using Vista, if that helps.

      • Orvar Says:

        Oh wait, silly me. I fixed it. Just uninstalled properly by deleting some remaining folders. Seems to be working now.

  8. Hoi Says:

    error while playing

    [quote]System.Reflection.TargetInvocationException: Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation. —> System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
    at Octgn.Networking.Handler.Reveal(Card card, UInt64 revealed, Guid guid)
    at Octgn.Networking.BinaryParser.Parse(Byte[] data)
    at Octgn.Networking.Handler.ReceiveMessage(Byte[] data)
    — End of inner exception stack trace —
    at System.RuntimeMethodHandle._InvokeMethodFast(IRuntimeMethodInfo method, Object target, Object[] arguments, SignatureStruct& sig, MethodAttributes methodAttributes, RuntimeType typeOwner)
    at System.RuntimeMethodHandle.InvokeMethodFast(IRuntimeMethodInfo method, Object target, Object[] arguments, Signature sig, MethodAttributes methodAttributes, RuntimeType typeOwner)
    at System.Reflection.RuntimeMethodInfo.Invoke(Object obj, BindingFlags invokeAttr, Binder binder, Object[] parameters, CultureInfo culture, Boolean skipVisibilityChecks)
    at System.Delegate.DynamicInvokeImpl(Object[] args)
    at System.Windows.Threading.ExceptionWrapper.InternalRealCall(Delegate callback, Object args, Int32 numArgs)
    at MS.Internal.Threading.ExceptionFilterHelper.TryCatchWhen(Object source, Delegate method, Object args, Int32 numArgs, Delegate catchHandler)
    at System.Windows.Threading.DispatcherOperation.InvokeImpl()
    at System.Windows.Threading.DispatcherOperation.InvokeInSecurityContext(Object state)
    at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.runTryCode(Object userData)
    at System.Runtime.CompilerServices.RuntimeHelpers.ExecuteCodeWithGuaranteedCleanup(TryCode code, CleanupCode backoutCode, Object userData)
    at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.RunInternal(ExecutionContext executionContext, ContextCallback callback, Object state)
    at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.Run(ExecutionContext executionContext, ContextCallback callback, Object state, Boolean ignoreSyncCtx)
    at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.Run(ExecutionContext executionContext, ContextCallback callback, Object state)
    at System.Windows.Threading.DispatcherOperation.Invoke()
    at System.Windows.Threading.Dispatcher.ProcessQueue()
    at System.Windows.Threading.Dispatcher.WndProcHook(IntPtr hwnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wParam, IntPtr lParam, Boolean& handled)
    at MS.Win32.HwndWrapper.WndProc(IntPtr hwnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wParam, IntPtr lParam, Boolean& handled)
    at MS.Win32.HwndSubclass.DispatcherCallbackOperation(Object o)
    at System.Windows.Threading.ExceptionWrapper.InternalRealCall(Delegate callback, Object args, Int32 numArgs)
    at MS.Internal.Threading.ExceptionFilterHelper.TryCatchWhen(Object source, Delegate method, Object args, Int32 numArgs, Delegate catchHandler)
    at System.Windows.Threading.Dispatcher.InvokeImpl(DispatcherPriority priority, TimeSpan timeout, Delegate method, Object args, Int32 numArgs)
    at MS.Win32.HwndSubclass.SubclassWndProc(IntPtr hwnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wParam, IntPtr lParam)
    at MS.Win32.UnsafeNativeMethods.DispatchMessage(MSG& msg)
    at System.Windows.Threading.Dispatcher.PushFrameImpl(DispatcherFrame frame)
    at System.Windows.Threading.Dispatcher.PushFrame(DispatcherFrame frame)
    at System.Windows.Threading.Dispatcher.Run()
    at System.Windows.Application.RunDispatcher(Object ignore)
    at System.Windows.Application.RunInternal(Window window)
    at System.Windows.Application.Run(Window window)
    at System.Windows.Application.Run()
    at Octgn.OctgnApp.Main()[/quote]


Leave a Reply

