.NET 4

Today Microsoft has released .NET 4. For those of you who don’t know what .NET is, it is the platform OCTGN 2 runs on (currently version 3.5 SP1).

The next OCTGN update will be compiled against .NET 4. As you may be wondering why I’m jumping right into the new technology (and pushing it to you – I’m aware of that drawback), here’s why:

– Because 4 is a nice, clean number. And I’m not joking. I have received countless “bugs” because people couldn’t install O2. They were sure they had the right framework, but most of the time they were missing the “SP1” part (and I’m not blaming them). This new release makes things clear: you need .NET 4, no less.

– It is much smaller. The full .NET framework has grown to a size I don’t even dare to tell you. They tried to trim that down in 3.5 with a smaller “Client Profile”, containing the usual desktop stuff, and removing the esoteric, deprecated or server stuff. But they didn’t really succeed because of their dependencies on previous 3.x and 2.0 releases.
.NET 4 Client Profile is a smaller install, you need to download approx. 30Mo.

– It contains technology to traverse NAT. Yes, you read that well! I’ll write another post about that but the next O2 release should be able to traverse most routers / NAT. Which means many people who can’t serve today should be able to do so. I still have to carefully test this, I’ll tell you more about it soon.

– There are many improvements in WPF (that’s the presentation layer O2 use), e.g. in animations, text clarity, effects…

– And many other improvements / new possibilities. Overall O2 should decrease in size and get better performances in the next months, as I progressively upgrade some stuff.

The .NET 4 “client profile” installer (in english, you may want to wait for other languages to appear) is here: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?displaylang=en&FamilyID=5765d7a8-7722-4888-a970-ac39b33fd8ab

(And if you need the full .NET 4 framework, it’s here instead: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?displaylang=en&FamilyID=9cfb2d51-5ff4-4491-b0e5-b386f32c0992)

Explore posts in the same categories: OCTGN.net

9 Comments on “.NET 4”

  1. Kurt Says:

    Hopefully you can update the piles too (graveyard / removed pile) so we don’t have to take control every time. =P

    I’m really glad to hear users should be able to host games that can’t host them today. I know it’s a pretty big issue for my group who play my game now.

  2. Silkmane Says:

    Hi Jods
    thanks for all the work that you’ve put in on OCTGYN. It’s interface is far superior to the workstation.
    I would like to use it to implement online games using the VS system.
    can you give me a heads up to how I would get started and also point me to any older sets that I may be able to incorporate into a possible release

  3. Silkmane Says:

    By the way guys,
    I am happy to hear that you all are working on a java port for OCTGN.
    I have experience as an SQL programmer with some understanding of VB.net and Java
    If I can help out in any way, let me know.

    Cheers — Silkmane

  4. jods Says:

    Hi Silkmane!

    If you need help with creating games, I suggest you come on our forums: http://www.octgn.net/forum

    The java team has been missing in action for a long time. Only the .NET version is still alive.

    Welcome aboard!
    –jods

    • David Says:

      I’m a java developer and didn’t realize there was ever a plan for a java version. Is there any desire/interest in the java side still being pursued? If so, is there anything I can do to help?

      • jods Says:

        The plan was to have OCTGN .NET as the best client on Windows, and OCTGN Java as a cross-platform client.

        As such, O2 is still built in an “open” way. The file formats are based on standards (Open Packaging Conventions), so that anyone could read them easily, and the network protocol is based upon XML messages for easy interoperability.

        The java team has disappeared. If you want to create a java client, you’re welcome (that’s the open-source spirit, isn’t it?). Just be aware that building a client is a HUGE task.

        I won’t be able to help you with java, but I can answer any question you might have regarding how O2 works.

  5. Silkmane Says:

    Hey Jods,
    hope everything is going well on your end.

    Can you please help me with gaining access to the Forum portion of this site. Currently, I’m still waiting validation for User credentials…

    Thanks again,

    Silkmane

    • jods Says:

      I’m sorry, but I think I mistakenly rejected your account. There is approx. 10 spammers trying to register everyday and that’s really the only way to keep the forums clean. Unfortunately, sometimes legitimate users may be rejected.

      Please register again and I’ll validate your account ASAP.

      Regards,
      –jods


  6. We are getting active directory support with use of Interop.Activeds.dll. by this we can easily implement single signon application with active directory autentication in .NET 4.0 framework. There are many other benefits of 4.0 framework, but when it comes to business terms it really doesn’t matter which framework is there.


Leave a Reply

