I’m back!

Hi everyone!

I survive my trip and I’m home again! In fact, I’ve been home for two weeks now, but there was so much to do… Catch up with my family, friends, work and e-mails. I can’t believe there were 150 non-spam mail in my inbox!

So, now I’m finally managing to come back to “normal”, which means I may give OCTGN some attention. What I wrote in my previous post is still 100% accurate because I’ve done nothing since then. The goal is now to prepare alpha 2, hopefully by the end of this month. But don’t hold your breath for it, it may be available a little later than that. Anyway I’ll keep you informed about progress through this blog.

For those interested in other things in life than OCTGN, here are a few pics of my trip. I’ve seen lots of beaches, lots of jungle and many incredible sunsets!

Explore posts in the same categories: Personal

18 Comments on “I’m back!”

  1. Kirb Says:

    Cripes, that’s beautiful.

  2. Rix Says:

    Whoa ! I NEED to go there ! Where was that ? 🙂

  3. jods Says:

    @Rix:
    This is Moheli, the smallest of the Comoros islands.

  4. roblethal Says:

    looks awesome indeed. thanks for a peak at a place i never knew existed. is that a popular vacation spot on the big continent, cause I don’t think I’ve ever heard of it.

  5. jods Says:

    Not at all.
    The island is still very savage and there are few commodities. Where I lived there was no electricity, and we used buckets for water. This really was off-tracks vacations.

  6. Dr. Horrible Says:

    So you didn’t have any water or electricity. Could’nt atleast have packed an extra battery and found a nice wifi signal to do regular updates to the blog. :p

    Having been cut off from civilization and what not, I think you guys will find this very enjoyable.

    Nice to hear that the cube format would be included in the beta. That’s awesome!!

  7. jods Says:

    Sorry, but hulu doesn’t stream oustide the US. So I couldn’t watch it.

    I don’t remember saying that Cube will be included in the beta… Funny how people can understand what they want from seemingly simple answers. 😉

  8. Matthew Says:

    Oh my God! You are a genius Jods! Making the central focus of OCTGN v2 be ‘comedy.’

    Jods: “Funny how…”

    I still don’t understand how that is awesome, but I know it will be. And I’m sorry to hear about your harddrive crashing. That sucks. Happened to me a few times, too.

    Jods: “I don’t remember…”

    I’m not too sure about the new Hawaii theme being default, but if we can change it then it won’t matter.

    Jods: “hulu…”

    Lastly, don’t you think that you should move in to the new generation of consoles? The GameCube is kind of old now. Get yourself a Wii! 😉

    Jods: “Cube…”

    Thanks for all of the information in your last post, Jods. You sure now how to cram it!

  9. Indy Says:

    Sorry to interrupt paradise (looked great, BTW – much better than my Florida trip with the family), but I have a quick question about O2. Will it support rotating cards to any of the 4 edges? For example, can I specify the rotation to be 0, 90, 180, or 270 degrees? I have a CCG that requires this type of orientation control, and I’m hoping O2 will be able to accomodate.

  10. Dr. Horrible Says:

    Sorry, in the previous blog post, I thought you said that while drafting support or support for the cube is not an option in alpha 2, it will be included in the beta.

    Got my hopes up.

    Sorry to hear that Dr. Horrible at hulu didn’t work.

    This should work…

    http://vids.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=vids.individual&VideoID=39532032

    If not, another option is download hotspot shield at cnet at masking your ip so that you can watch things restricted to the US only. I’ve confirmed that it works.

  11. Dr. Horrible Says:

    I realized that link might not work either. This is the best I could do. Sorry.

  12. viparas Says:

    Welcome back Jods. Must have been interesting. How much did it put you back doing that kind of trip?

  13. Dr. Horrible Says:

    Well, in early June, all of us were on the edge of our set thinking we will have a beta by the end of the month.

    It’s mid August. I’m sure you can do the math. :p

    JK. It was a very well deserved and well earned vacation. Jods certainly deserves one.

    And it actually makes sense to take such a break before the project ends, so that one can approach the last phase of testing, and final fixes, and remaining problems (and Draft/Cube support) with a clear head. Than it does to rush it out and then take a break after a release, when all the bugs will be coming out that will need to be addressed.

    So it was a good move on Jods part.

  14. Dr. Horrible Says:

    GOOD NEWS GUYS.

    .NET 3.5 SP1 is released!!!

    http://blogs.microsoft.co.il/blogs/tamir/archive/2008/08/11/net-3-5-sp1-is-rtm-and-available-for-download.aspx

    That’s one less thing Jods has to wait for. 🙂

  15. Play Emperor via OCTGN Says:

    Just wanted to make absolutely certain. The Alpha 2 will let multiple players log on to the same match right?

    So we could play a six player emperor game using it?

  16. chimpion Says:

    Looks very interesting and i’ll keep checking here once in a while for new changes.

    Just a question, will spectate be an available option in OCTGN naturally or will it be up to the modders to include that option?

  17. jods Says:

    @Play Emperor:
    Alpha 1 already allowed an “unlimited” number of players to connect. So it’s no big surprise that you can do that in alpha 2 as well. On the other hand I have no idea how playable a six players emperor game would be. You’ll have to check for yourself and tell us!

    @chimpion:
    Spectate should be a core OCTGN feature. Unfortunately there are a few tricky points so it’s not implemented yet.

  18. jods Says:

    @Indy:
    Yes, you can rotate cards on any of the four sides (this was already built in alpha 1, although the Blue Moon game didn’t expose it).


Leave a Reply

