Rotate card

OCTGN.net allows you – of course – to rotate cards on the table. Otherwise many games wouldn’t be playable 😉

So, nothing ground-breaking here, but I’ve coded it. Cards can be orientated at 0, 90, 180 and 270°.

The only bit of fancy here: the changes are animated. Why may you ask ?

  • Because it’s pretty cool; (that being – of course – the #1 reason)
  • Animating changes is a good way to show in an intuitive way what is happening to the user. Generally speaking, when something on screen goes from state A to state B immediately – sometimes with state B being very different from state A – the user has to do a mental process, some kind of “validation”, of what happened. If the transition is smoothly animated over time, the process is a lot more intuitive, and users think less.
    This is especially true when changes can be initiated by someone else. It’s a lot easier to see what your opponent is doing when it takes a short amount of time rather than being immediate.

Now, of course, this has to be non-intrusive. The player must not have the feeling that he has to play slowly because of the animations taking too much time. I don’t think it’s the case because:

  • The animation is very short. Rotating a card 90° takes 0.3 seconds. The raw figure may seem extremely short at first. But in practice the animation is very noticeable on screen, and 0.3 seconds are a lot more than it seems. For the record I first tested with 0.5 seconds, thinking this was short enough. How wrong I was: it was sluggish speed!
  • You shouldn’t be afraid that the animation gets in your way. The application stays responsive at all time. If you want to manipulate something during the 0.3s of animation… well you can!

Time for the little screeny proving I’ve done my homework. Unfortunately it’s very hard to show an animation with a jpg image. But hopefully you’ll see with the card on the right that I at least tried.

Rotated cards

That’s it for today!

jods

Explore posts in the same categories: OCTGN.net

6 Comments on “Rotate card”

  1. eyerouge Says:

    If you want to manipulate something during the 0.3s of animation… well you can!

    Great feature, rocks.. =)

    I myself am positive to the animation and I agree to a 100% with your reasoning. However, it should be fairly easy and almost “no” code to make an on/off setting for the animations… if so (and you’d know the best), why not implement that option? It may sound as a detailed overkill at first, but a program is the sum of all it’s functions. OCTGN2 will be pretty customizable, so I think this is in the spirit of the whole idea.

  2. whitey Says:

    Each post makes me more anxious for release. I think little touches like this will cement this program’s badass-osity-ism.

    Good work.

  3. jods Says:

    @eyerouge:
    well, of course switching off the animations is very easy. And I’m sure that eventually I will put an option somewhere for those who don’t want them.

    But right now I’m focusing on adding core features so that we could get to some open beta testing, and a release, as fast as possible. (which is slowly, unfortunately).

    I keep all those “nice to have” things for a 2.1 release. (and I have very exciting ideas…)

    thanks for the comments,
    jods

  4. viparas Says:

    Will rotation still be triggered with left clicking? Or will that also be something that is costomizable?

  5. jods Says:

    @viparas:
    Excellent question. And here’s one part of the answer:
    All the features are built in the core of OCTGN, but are unavailable to the player by default. (Well, that’s a lie: a few features are always available.)
    It is up to the game designer to decide what actions a player can take, and to decide what each action should do, in term of core features. How one can do that is really the subject of another post. But since I was writing this blog for the players more than the game-designers, I haven’t talked about it yet.

    Now the actions that have been created by the game designer are accessible in two ways:
    1. Right-click makes a context menu appear with all actions. One can then choose one action.
    2. Double-click executes the default action, as set by the game designer.

    I am considering how to allow the game designer to set up keyboard shortcuts, and maybe how to allow the players to customize those shortcuts to their own taste… But I haven’t taken any decision yet.

  6. Discord Says:

    Fantastic. This is a feature I can see using with my CCG.

    Speaking of which, I forgot that I also needed creature counters. 🙂 Hope they’re not too far down on your list of things to implement.

    Keep up the good work.


Leave a Reply

